logo FGA
Immersion : Into the black, Virtual reality and mediation

EPFL+ECAL Lab (Tommaso Colombo, Joëlle Aeschlimann, Marius Aeberli, Delphine Ribes, Nicolas Le Moigne, Nicolas Henchoz) and Yves Kalberer

As an introduction to Noir, c’est noir ?, EPFL+ECAL Lab invites the public to engage with the content of the exhibition in an interactive and immersive experience. It uses now ever more present virtual reality headsets, whose technical performance is for the most part – with notable exceptions in gaming – still looking for appropriate content. The installation explores how interactive virtual immersion via 3D computer graphics can expand the understanding and appreciation of an exhibition. The design of the device is also central: virtual reality glasses mounted on a fixed pedestal recall the familiar stationary binoculars for tourists.

As part of a comprehensive study into the uses of virtual reality, Into the Black offers a unique and sensory way of engaging with curatorial content.

Matter : The « chromatic versatility » of black

EPFL+ECAL Lab (Joëlle Aeschlimann, Tommaso Colombo, Delphine Ribes, Nicolas Henchoz)
Signal Processing Laboratory LTS5 (Jean-Philippe Thiran)
Gamaya (Luca Baldassarre, Manuel Cubero-Castan, Ellen Czaika, Vlad Lapadatescu, Dragos Constantin)
Egli Studio (Yann Mathys, Thibault Dussex)
Atelier Héritier, Geneva (Pierre-Antoine Héritier, conservateur-restaurateur)

The library of thirty-two black pigments prepared by the conservator-restorer Pierre-Antoine Héritier offers a glimpse into the extraordinary diversity of the types of pigments that can enter into a painting’s composition. Organic, mineral or synthetic in origin, each one has subtle variations in tone and shading. The perception of black changes according to their properties (including the refractive index, coverage, morphology), their particle size (blackness is even lesser when the pigment is more finely ground) and their smooth or structured appearance (determined by the binder and the mode of application).

The experience created by EPFL+ECAL Lab seeks to reveal the "chromatic versatility of the single pigment paintings“1 of Pierre Soulages. This project, supported by the Signal Processing Laboratory LTS5 and the startup Gamaya, makes use of a hyperspectral camera – a piece of equipment typically used in aerial photography for agriculture, to examine the condition of fields and crops – that is able to simultaneously capture different colors comprising the light spectrum.
While the human eye perceives visible light as white, the hyperspectral camera separately captures the flow of visible light reflected by an Outrenoir, color by color. EPFL+ECAL Lab then translates the collected data into an interactive installation that exhibits a “hyperspectral map“ of the painting in question. This visual representation corresponds to a constantly evolving digital surface that evokes not only the interaction between the light and the work, variations in energy depending on the color of light, but also the changes that occur as soon as the visitor moves, or with changes in ambient lighting.
In featuring an innovative perception of the different colors of light that animate an Outrenoir, this installation creates a striking and evocative contrast that enables the public to approach the work entirely without artifice.

1 Pierre ENCREVÉ, "Le noir et l’outrenoir", in Suzanne Pagé (dir.), Soulages, Noir Lumière (exh. cat., Paris, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, April 11 - June 23, 1996), p. 37.

Light : Bringing an Outrenoir to light

Signal Processing Laboratory LTS2 (Maximilien Cuony, Fabien Willemin, Johan Paratte, Pierre Vandergheynst)
Studio Fragment.in (Marc Dubois, Laura Perrenoud, Simon de Diesbach)

Constantly renewing our perception of an Outrenoir according to variations in ambient light – natural or artificial – and our positioning relative to the painting is the project that unites the Signal Processing Laboratory LTS2 with the Fragment.in design studio, coming out of the Lausanne University of Art and Design (ECAL).

The project team has created a specifically developed installation that allows for a novel perception of the paintings, turning the viewer into an actor in the creation of the artwork. Through a system that is able to detect our position and movements in front of the painting, it is possible to adjust the lighting of an Outrenoir and thus to experiment physically with our relationship to the artwork. The canvas is surrounded by an animated light installation that offers, under the same hanging conditions, several types of lighting (frontal illumination, oblique or directional) in a succession of programmed modes, both scripted and interactive.

The experience particularly shows differences in the treatment of the pictorial layer of the exhibited painting. The opposition between striations and flat areas engages light in a particular play between vibration and absorption. The monumental size of the painting encourages movement in a place where artificial lighting is no longer a static given but a variable that enriches the perception of the work.

Structure : Ultra-high definition acquisition and interactive visualization of an Outrenoir

Audiovisual Communications Laboratoy LCAV (Martin Vetterli)
ARTMYN (Loïc Baboulaz, Julien Lalande, Alexandre Catsicas, Matthieu Rudelle)

Photography, including in the digital age, has up to now never managed to accurately render the material reality of an Outrenoir. By establishing only a single point of view, it crushes the light reflected by the black pictorial surface.

Now however, the startup ARTMYN, which arose out of the Audiovisual Communications Laboratory LCAV, can reproduce artworks with unprecedented accuracy. Through a clean capture structure (a hemisphere studded with close to 60 light sources connected to a camera), ARTMYN not only photographs the work, but also generates a reconstruction of it in which perspective can be explored through an interactive visualization in 5D. In addition to the three known dimensions, it is indeed possible to digitally alter the emission angle of the light1 that illuminates the painting.
The reproduction achieved – a kind of topography of the painting – offers the viewer, by using a touch-screen, the ability to visualize the surface of the painting from different angles and to explore the play of light in even the smallest details of the pictorial layer.

This technology thus makes it possible to exceed the traditional boundaries of photographic reproduction regarding acquisition accuracy, while also paving the way for new opportunities in mediation and conservation.

Optics : Caustics or mastering light

Computer Graphics and Geometry Laboratory LGG (Mark Pauly)
Rayform (Mark Pauly, Yuliy Schwartzburg, Romain Testuz)

Caustics refer to the envelope of light rays undergoing a reflection or refraction on a surface or a curve, for instance light patterns that emerge when light passes through a glass of water or on the bottom of a pool lit by the sun. Growing out of Mark Pauly’s Computer Graphics and Geometry Lab LGG, the startup Rayform is dedicated entirely to the application of computing technologies for controlling caustics. Indeed, a shared fascination with the behavior of light in interaction with surface conditions connects Pierre Soulages with these EPFL researchers.

LGG and Rayform have managed to control the random patterns produced by light by using a series of computer algorithms developed at EPFL. The startup calculates and produces complex shaped surfaces which deflect the light passing through them to project highly detailed images.

Mark Pauly and his colleagues propose an installation comprised of four caustic surfaces (high-precision sculpted plexiglass plates), illustrating the close relationship maintained between the Outrenoirs and light. These transparent “tableaus“ reveal their content when a visitor shines a pocket flashlight through them.

  • The first device reveals a digital scan of an Outrenoir carried out by the startup ARTMYN. The painting is represented here as if a part of its materiality had been extracted from it, leaving only a luminescent evocation of the artwork.
  • The second is paradoxical – the illumination of a transparent square produces a black circle – questioning the duality of the presence/absence of light in our perception of the world.
  • The third represents a sketch by the painter and man of science Leonardo da Vinci, who was one of the pioneers in the exploration of the relationship between light and matter. The drawing illustrates the reflection of light on a concave mirror (Codex Arundel MS 263, 1478-1518, British Library, London, folio 86 verso).
  • The last device, auto-illuminated and rotating, indicates the importance of visual perspective in the perception of an Outrenoir.

The light coming from the painting towards the viewer creates a space in front of the canvas, and the viewer exists in this space.
There is an immediacy of vision for each point of view ; if one changes that viewpoint, the first vision disappears – erased – for the appearance of another.
The painting is present in that instant when it is seen.

Pierre Soulages

Interview of Pierre Soulages by Pierre Encrevé, « Les éclats du noir », Beaux-Arts Magazine, special edition, Paris, March 1996, in Éric de Chassey et Sylvie Ramond (ed.), Soulages XXIe siècle (exh. cat., Lyon, Musée des Beaux-Arts, October 12, 2012 − January 28, 2013, Rome, French Academy in Rome − Villa Médicis, February 18 − May 19, 2013), Paris, Hazan, 2012, p. 159.

logo FGA
Immersion : Into the black, Réalité virtuelle et médiation

EPFL+ECAL Lab (Tommaso Colombo, Joëlle Aeschlimann, Marius Aeberli, Delphine Ribes, Nicolas Le Moigne, Nicolas Henchoz) et Yves Kalberer

En guise d’introduction à Noir, c’est noir ?, l’EPFL+ECAL Lab invite le public à appréhender le contenu de l’exposition sous une forme immersive et interactive. Il recourt à des dispositifs de réalité virtuelle de plus en plus courants, mais dont la performance technique demeure encore en quête de contenus appropriés – à l’exception des développements notamment opérés dans l’univers du jeu vidéo. L’installation explore comment une immersion visuelle interactive réalisée au moyen d’images de synthèse en 3D peut élargir la compréhension d’une exposition. Le design du dispositif est également central : les lunettes de réalité virtuelle, montées sur un pied fixe, rappellent les jumelles pour touristes, un objet à la manipulation familière.

S’inscrivant dans une recherche globale sur les usages de la réalité virtuelle, Into the Black propose une appréhension inédite et sensorielle du contenu curatorial.

Matière : La « polyvalence chromatique » du noir

EPFL+ECAL Lab (Joëlle Aeschlimann, Tommaso Colombo, Delphine Ribes, Nicolas Henchoz)
Laboratoire de traitement des signaux LTS5 (Jean-Philippe Thiran)
Gamaya (Luca Baldassarre, Manuel Cubero-Castan, Ellen Czaika, Vlad Lapadatescu, Dragos Constantin)
Egli Studio (Yann Mathys, Thibault Dussex)
Atelier Héritier, Genève (Pierre-Antoine Héritier, conservateur-restaurateur)

La bibliothèque de trente-deux pigments noirs constituée par le conservateur-restaurateur Pierre-Antoine Héritier propose un aperçu de l’extraordinaire diversité des pigments susceptibles d’entrer dans la composition d’une peinture. D’origines organiques, minérales ou synthétiques, ils présentent chacun de subtiles variations de nuances.
Selon leurs propriétés (dont l’indice de réfraction, le pouvoir couvrant, la morphologie), leur granulométrie (la noirceur est d’autant moins élevée lorsque le pigment est broyé plus finement),, leur aspect lisse ou structuré (suivant le liant et le mode d’application), la perception du noir se modifie d’autant.

L’expérience conduite par l’EPFL+ECAL Lab souhaite révéler la « polyvalence chromatique des toiles monopigmentaires1 » de Pierre Soulages. Entreprise avec le concours du Laboratoire de traitement des signaux LTS5 et de la start-up Gamaya, elle recourt à l’utilisation d’une caméra dite hyperspectrale – appareil habituellement utilisé dans l’agriculture lors de prises de vue aériennes pour examiner l’état des champs et des cultures – capable de capter séparément les différentes couleurs composant le spectre lumineux.
Alors que l’œil humain perçoit la lumière visible comme blanche, la caméra hyperspectrale a capté de manière distincte le flux de lumière visible renvoyé par un Outrenoir, couleur par couleur. L’EPFL+ECAL Lab a ensuite traduit les données recueillies en une installation interactive présentant une projection de la « carte hyperspectrale » du tableau en question. Cette représentation visuelle correspond à une surface digitale en constante évolution qui évoque l’interaction entre la lumière et l’œuvre, mais aussi les variations qui surviennent dès lors que le visiteur se déplace ou que l’éclairage ambiant évolue.
Proposant une perception inédite des différentes couleurs de la lumière qui anime un Outrenoir, ce dispositif crée un contraste fécond avec la possibilité qui s’offre ensuite au public d’aborder l’œuvre sans le moindre artifice.

1 Pierre ENCREVÉ, "Le noir et l’outrenoir", repris in Suzanne Pagé (dir.), Soulages, Noir Lumière (cat. exp., Paris, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, 11 avril - 23 juin 1996), Paris, Paris-Musées, 1996 p. 37.

Lumière : La mise en lumière d'un Outrenoir

Laboratoire de traitement des signaux LTS2 (Maximilien Cuony, Fabien Willemin, Johan Paratte, Pierre Vandergheynst)
Studio Fragment.in (Marc Dubois, Laura Perrenoud, Simon de Diesbach)

Réactualiser en permanence notre perception d’un Outrenoir selon la variation de la lumière ambiante – naturelle ou artificielle – et notre position par rapport au tableau est l’expérience à laquelle nous convient le Laboratoire de traitement des signaux LTS2 et le studio fragment.in, issu de l’Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL).

Cette appréhension spécifique, qui fait du spectateur un acteur de l’œuvre, est mise en évidence par un dispositif d’exposition inédit. Grâce à un système capable de détecter notre positionnement et nos déplacements face au tableau, il nous est possible de moduler l’éclairage d’un Outrenoir et d’expérimenter ainsi physiquement notre rapport à l’œuvre. La toile est entourée d’un dispositif animé offrant plusieurs types d’éclairage (lumière frontale, rasante ou directionnelle) qui s’animent selon des modes programmés, tour à tour scénarisés et interactifs.
L’expérience révèle notamment les différences de traitement de la couche picturale du tableau exposé. L’opposition entre les stries et les aplats implique un jeu de lumière particulier entre vibration et absorption. Le format monumental du tableau invite au déplacement, dans un espace où l’éclairage artificiel n’est plus une donnée statique mais une variable qui enrichit la perception de l’œuvre.

Structure : Acquisition en ultra-haute définition et visualisation interactive d'un Outrenoir

Laboratoire de communications audiovisuelles LCAV (Martin Vetterli)
ARTMYN (Loïc Baboulaz, Julien Lalande, Alexandre Catsicas, Matthieu Rudelle)

La photographie, y compris à l’ère numérique, n’a jusqu’à présent jamais réussi à rendre fidèlement compte de la réalité matérielle d’un Outrenoir. Elle ne fixe qu’un point de vue unique qui écrase la lumière réfléchie par la surface picturale noire.

Or, la start-up ARTMYN, issue du Laboratoire de communications audio visuelles, reproduit les oeuvres d’art avec une précision inédite. Grâce à une structure de captation constituée d’un appareil photographique relié à une soixantaine de sources d’éclairage disposées sous une demi-sphère, ARTMYN capte non seulement l’oeuvre qui lui est soumise, mais en génère également une reconstitution explorable en perspective, sous la forme d’une visualisation interactive en 5D. En plus des trois dimensions connues, il est en effet possible de modifier numériquement l’angle d’émission de la lumière* qui éclaire le tableau. La reproduction obtenue – sorte de topographie du tableau – offre au spectateur la possibilité de visualiser au moyen d’un écran tactile la surface de la toile sous différents angles et d’explorer le jeu de la lumière dans les moindres détails de la couche picturale.

Cette technologie permet ainsi de dépasser les limites traditionnelles de la reproduction photographique quant à la justesse d’acquisition, tout en ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives pour la médiation et la conservation.

* La latitude et la longitude de la lumière correspondent à deux dimensions supplémentaires.

Optique : Les caustiques ou la maîtrise de la lumière

Laboratoire d'informatique graphique et géométrique LGG (Mark Pauly)
Rayform (Mark Pauly, Yuliy Schwartzburg, Romain Testuz)

Les caustiques désignent l’enveloppe des rayons lumineux subissant une réflexion ou une réfraction sur une surface ou une courbe, à l’instar des motifs lumineux qui se dessinent lorsque la lumière traverse un verre d’eau ou au fond d’une piscine au soleil. Issue du Laboratoire d’informatique graphique et géométrique de Mark Pauly, la start-up Rayform est entièrement dédiée à l’application de technologies de calcul permettant de contrôler les caustiques. De fait, une fascination commune pour le comportement de la lumière en interaction avec les états de surface relie Pierre Soulages à ces chercheurs de l’EPFL.

Le LGG et Rayform sont parvenus à maîtriser les motifs aléatoires produits par la lumière en utilisant une série d’algorithmes informatiques développés à l’EPFL. La start-up calcule et produit des surfaces de formes complexes qui dévient la lumière les traversant pour projeter des images très détaillées.

Mark Pauly et ses collègues proposent une installation comprenant quatre surfaces caustiques (des plaques de plexiglas sculptées avec haute précision), illustrant le rapport qu’entretiennent les Outrenoirs avec la lumière. Ces « tableaux » transparents révèlent leur contenu lorsque le public les éclaire à l’aide d’une lampe de poche.

  • Le premier dispositif révèle un Outrenoir sur la base de la numérisation effectuée par la start-up ARTMYN. Le tableau est ici représenté comme si une partie de sa matérialité lui avait été retirée, pour n’en laisser qu’une évocation lumineuse.
  • Le deuxième tient du paradoxe – l’éclairage d’un carré transparent projette un cercle noir – en questionnant la dualité absence/ présence de lumière dans notre perception du monde.
  • Le troisième représente un croquis de Léonard de Vinci, à la fois peintre et homme de science, qui fut l’un des pionniers de l’exploration du rapport entre lumière et matière. Le dessin illustre la réflexion de la lumière sur un miroir concave (Codex Arundel MS 263, 1478-1518, British Library, Londres, folio 86 verso).
  • Le dernier dispositif, auto-éclairé et en rotation, signale l’importance du point de vue dans la perception d’un Outrenoir.

La lumière venant de la toile vers le regardeur crée un espace devant la toile et le regardeur se trouve dans cet espace.
Il y a une instantanéité de la vision pour chaque point de vue ; si on en change, il y a dissolution de la première vision,  effacement, apparition d’une autre.
La toile est présente dans l’instant où elle est vue.

Pierre Soulages

Entretien de Pierre Encrevé avec Pierre Soulages, « Les éclats du noir », Beaux-Arts Magazine, hors-série, Paris, mars 1996, repris in Éric de Chassey et Sylvie Ramond (dir.), Soulages XXIe siècle (cat. expo., Lyon, Musée des Beaux-Arts, 12 octobre 2012 − 28 janvier 2013, Rome, Académie de France à Rome − Villa Médicis, 18 février − 19 mai 2013), Paris, Hazan, 2012, p. 159.