logo FGA

1919
Pierre Soulages was born on December 24 in Rodez, France.


1925
Sensitive to the contrast of black at a very young age, he paints a snowy landscape using China ink to reveal the whiteness of the paper.


1934
He is deeply affected by reproductions of Claude Lorrain’s and Rembrandt’s ink washes : Lorrain shows him how the dilution of ink stains creates a special light, while Rembrandt impresses on him the force and rhythm of the brushstrokes that, through contrast, illuminated the white of the paper. He produces his first paintings.


1937
He learns about prehistoric and parietal art, which make extensive use of black pigments (vegetal and animal carbon black, pyrolusite). He considers from here on, black to be the originating color of painting.


1946
He breaks definitively with any attempt at representation and creates his first abstract paintings.
He applies walnut stain on paper and buys brushes and paint spatulas used for painting buildings —diverting them from their original function and discovering a new freedom with technique.


1947
His paintings, dominated by somber colors, stand out from the French art scene. They are composed against a bright background, so much so that the light appears to be contained in the work itself.


1960-1970
He covers the surface of the canvas with wide solid areas of black that, by rubbing or scraping, reveal the presence of white, ochre, blue or red which have previously been applied underneath. He explores the ability of black to illuminate, through contrast, one or more colors that he highlights or suggests.


1979
A major turning-point takes place in his work: he paints canvases entirely in black in order to undo the opposition between form and content and to produce a play of light according to the surface conditions of the paint layer. Thus begins the period he himself has described as “noir lumière“ (black-as-light) and then, since 1990, “outrenoir.“ The resulting paintings are all experiments with light envisaged as a material.


1984-1987
He begins producing monumental polyptychs that introduce an additional discontinuity to the surface, that of the chassis. Their format requires the movement of the viewer which thereby offers a new point of view on the painting.


1987
He receives a public commission to create the stained glass windows of Sainte-Foy de Conques, an abbey that had left a lasting impression on him in his childhood.
The work, extending over eight years, constitutes one of his most important fields of experimentation. He creates a translucent, colorless glass that that allows a diffuse transmission of light while respecting its changing spectrum.


2004
He abandons oil to work exclusively with acrylic. This technique has the advantage of drying quickly, making it possible to vary the thickness of the paint layer and to fade the black into a multitude of shades.


2014
Inauguration of the Musée Soulages in Rodez, an institution that houses the largest collection of the painter’s works.

What I have been exploring for several years now is, for the most part, based on the specific quality, the particular brightness of the light reflected on the canvas being transmuted by its surface and by the black that throws it back out.

Pierre Soulages

Thierry Raspail and Thierry Prat (ed.), “The Love of Art”, in The Love of Art : An Exhibition of Contemporary Art in France (exh. cat., Lyon, Biennale d'art contemporain, September 3 - October 13, 1991), Lyon, Musée d'art contemporain, 1991, p. 7.

logo FGA

1919
Naissance de Pierre Soulages le 24 décembre à Rodez, France.


1925
Très tôt sensible au contraste du noir, il peint un paysage de neige avec de l’encre de Chine pour révéler la blancheur du papier.


1934
Des reproductions de lavis de Claude Lorrain et de Rembrandt le marquent profondément : il retient la dilution des taches d’encre créant une lumière particulière chez le premier, la force et le rythme des coups de pinceaux qui illuminent par contraste le blanc du papier chez le second. Il réalise ses premières peintures.


1937
Il découvre l’art préhistorique et pariétal qui fait largement usage de pigments noirs (noir de charbon végétal et animal, pyrolusite). Il considérera par la suite le noir comme la couleur originelle de la peinture.


1946
Il rompt définitivement avec toute représentation et crée ses premiers tableaux abstraits.
Il applique du brou de noix sur du papier, achète des brosses et des spatules de peintre en bâtiment qu’il détourne de leur fonction initiale afin de se forger une liberté technique nouvelle.


1947
Ses tableaux, dominés par des couleurs sombres, se distinguent de la scène artistique française. Leur composition s’établit sur un fond clair, si bien que la lumière semble contenue dans l’oeuvre elle-même.


1960-1970
Il recouvre la surface de la toile de larges aplats noirs qui, par frottement ou raclage, révèlent la présence de blanc ou encore d’ocre, de bleu ou de rouge appliqués préalablement. Il cherche ainsi à explorer la capacité du noir à illuminer, par contraste, la ou les couleurs qu’il souligne ou laisse deviner.


1979
Un tournant majeur s’opère dans son oeuvre : il peint des toiles entièrement noires afin d’annuler l’opposition entre forme et fond et de produire des jeux de lumière en fonction des états de surface de la couche picturale. S’ouvre ainsi la période qu’il a lui-même qualifiée de « noir lumière », puis d’« outrenoir » dès 1990. Les peintures qui en résultent constituent autant d’expériences de la lumière, envisagée comme une matière.


1984-1987
Il entreprend la réalisation de polyptyques monumentaux qui introduisent une discontinuité supplémentaire dans la surface : celle des châssis. Leur format impose un déplacement du spectateur, associé au renouvellement de son point de vue.


1987
Il reçoit la commande publique des vitraux de Sainte-Foy de Conques, abbatiale qui l’avait tant marqué dans son enfance. Leur réalisation s’étend sur huit ans, constituant l’un de ses plus importants champs d’expérimentation. Il fait créer un verre translucide et incolore qui permet la transmission diffuse de la lumière en respectant son spectre changeant.


2004
Il abandonne l’huile au profit exclusif de l’acrylique. Cette technique a l’avantage d’un séchage rapide, permet de varier les épaisseurs de la couche picturale et de décliner la couleur noire selon une multitude de nuances.


2014
Inauguration du Musée Soulages à Rodez, institution qui abrite la plus grande collection d’oeuvres du peintre.

Ce que j’explore depuis plusieurs années est, pour une grande part, fondé sur la qualité particulière, l’éclat spécifique de la lumière réfléchie sur la toile, venant au-devant d’elle et transmutée par l’état de surface et le noir qui la renvoie.

Pierre Soulages

Thierry Raspail et Thierry Prat (dir.), « L’Amour de l’art », repris in L’Amour de l’art. Une exposition de l’art contemporain en France (cat. expo. Lyon, Biennale d'art contemporain, 3 september - 13 octobre 1991), Lyon, Musée d’art contemporain, 1991, p. 7.